Founded in 1981, the American Society of Furniture Designers (ASFD) is dedicated to excellence, innovation, education and originality in the practice of furniture design. ASFD serves as the unified voice of the furniture design community, advocating professional practice and integrity at all times. ASFD seeks to demonstrate the value of design to the furnishings industry.

The Pinnacle Awards were created in April 1995 by the ASFD board of directors to promote design quality and encourage the recognition of furniture designers within the retail home furnishings industry. This year marks the award’s 22nd anniversary and the second time you can enter online.

Honorary Awards & Memberships

ASFD Distinguished Service Award
Robert E. Stannard, 2007

Founder’s Award
Max Stout, 1991

Distinguished Designer Award
O. B. Solie, 1988

ASFD Outstanding Member Award - Lifetime
Arto O. Szabó, 2006

Outstanding Design Support Award - Retailer
Carl Levine, 1989

Distinguished Designer Award
Milo Baughman, 1987

ASFD President’s Award
Thom O’Leary, 2006

Outstanding Design Support Award- Publisher
Communications/Today Ltd., 1989

Distinguished Designer Award
Edward J. Wormley, 1986

ASFD President’s Award
Matt Hurley, 2005

ASFD Outstanding Design Support Award- Supplier
Ottens Products, 1989

ASFD Life-Time Achievement Award
Charles Lee White, Jr., 1985

Lifetime Achievement Award
Vladimir Kagan, 2000

ASFD Life-Time Achievement Award
Ray and Charles Eames, 1989

ASFD Life-Time Achievement Award
Ernest L. Swarts, 1985

ASFD Distinguished Designer Award
Raymond K. Sabota, 1989

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
Dr. Richard R. Bennington, 1998

ASFD Life-Time Achievement Award
Marie Kirpatrick, 1985

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
Max Stout, 1994

Outstanding Design Support Award - Manufacturer
Thayer Coggin, Inc, 1989

ASFD Life-Time Honorary Member
P. Douglas Kerr, 1985